The house is festooned with features - some a shade OTT some more subtle - all feel old and established and a symbol of old victorian confidence and money and status.
The old Conduit House was number 1 Lyndhurst Terrace and was originally called Bayford House. it was built along with the house next door in 1864 by Charles Buckeridge.
Lyndhurst is after Lord Lyndhurst, J S Copley, Lord Chancellor who is buried in Highgate Cemetery.
The land in front were of course the Conduit Fields so named as a reference to the nearby Shepherd's Well and Spring Path is also nearby.
The house is descibed principly by the turreted Gothic effect and indeed those turrets retain their dominance of this corner of the terrace.