Monday 18 May 2009

Sigh, this is such a sad spectacle...

I try and avoid partisan politics on here but the demise of the good reputation of MPs seemed so inexorable that I helped co-ordinate this letter which went yesterday to Mr Speaker.

Dear Mr Speaker,

As Parliament continues to be dragged down by the allowance system, and its rules, the role of those in public service across the country is being undermined. We are Liberal Democrat candidates seeking to be elected to Parliament and yet we find ourselves disappointed, and frustrated, at the way in which this matter is being handled.

Every day our residents are telling us loudly that this must stop and this must stop now. Three things stand out:
• The resistance to the releasing of these documents and the attempt to exclude Parliament from the Freedom of Information requirements
• The way in which Norman Baker and Kate Hoey were treated when they sought to raise legitimate concerns
• The fact that, through you, parliament could now release the information into the public domain and cut short this parade of drip-fed news and empower MPs and citizens through a new transparent relationship.

It is vital that Parliament must become transparent and accountable now. We call on you, as Speaker of the House, to do everything within your power to force the full publication of all expenses immediately.

We also call on you to accept the independent review of MPs expenses and salaries chaired by Sir Christopher Kelly. If you are unable to do this we then ask you to consider your position.

Time is running out for politicians of all parties to repair the damage to our democracy.

Yours sincerely

56 Liberal Democrat parliamentary candidates
Ed Fordham, Hampstead and Kilburn
Sal Brinton, Watford
Andrew Simpson, Northampton North
Bridget Fox, Islington South & Finsbury; Duncan Borrowman, Old Bexley and Sidcup; Steve Goddard, Oxford East; Adrian Collett, Aldershot; Adam Carew, East Hampshire; Gareth Epps, Reading East; Sally Morgan, Central Devon; Sue Doughty, Guildford; Rebecca Hunt. Chatham & Aylesford; Sarah Carr, Hereford and South Herefordshire; Guy Voizey Canterbury and Whitstable; Jo Shaw, Holborn and St Pancras; Liz Leffman, Meon Vallley; Merlene Emerson, Hammersmith; Sandy Walkington, St Albans; Richard Burt, West Worcestershire; Caroline Pigeon, Vauxhall; Kevin Lang, Edinburgh North & Leith; Andrew Dakers, Brentford and Isleworth; Andrew Duffield,Hexham; David Kendall, Brentwood and Ongar; Ann Haigh, Epping Forest; Simon Wright, Norwich South; Liz Simpson, Tonbridge and Malling; Sam Webber, Bromley and Chislehurst; Rabi Martins - Luton North; Greg Stone, Newcastle East; Theo Butt-Philip, Bridgwater and West Somerset; Dave Radcliffe, Birmingham Selly Oak; Richard Clein, Sefton Central; Mike Cox, Uxbridge and South Ruislip; Andy Stamp, Gillingham & Rainham; Stephen Lloyd, Eastbourne & Willingdon; Mark Blackburn, Westminster North; Denis Healy, Hull North; Robin Lawrence, Wolverhampton South West; Alex Feakes, Lewisham and West Penge; Andrew Falconer, Brighton Pavilion; Dave McBride, Orpington; Nigel Quinton, Hitchin & Harpenden; Alan Beddow, Warwick and Leamington; David Goodall, Southampton Itchen; Ryk Downes, Leeds Central; Chris Took, Ashford; Peter Wilcock, Saffron Walden; Karen Hamilton, Birmingham Perry Barr; Qurban Hussain, Luton South; Keith Angus, Hackney North and Stoke Newington; Stephen Robinson, Chelmsford; Mike Bell, Weston-super-Mare; Dave Raval, Hackney South and Shoreditch; Fred Mackintosh, Edinburgh South; Munira Wilson, Feltham and Heston; Paul Zukowskyj, Welwyn Hatfield.

No comments: